Junior Prizewinners

The following is a list of all of the Junior prizewinners for 2019. Congratulations to all winners, their teams, coaches, parents, whanau and supporters!

Special mentions were also made of James O’Brien and James Ma who have been with OBU juniors since under 6s. This is the first wave of kids to have played all of their junior rugby with OBU. All the best for your future and please know that there is always a place for you here at OBU whenever you need it!

Another special mention for Anthony Taylor who received the inaugural Junior volunteer of the year award fro several years of dedication to getting kids on the park on Saturday mornings. Congratulations from the whole club Anthony, well deserved!

Great season, see you back next year!

Team Award Award Winner
Under 6 Wilsons Best Player Callum Best
Best Team Player Victor Shan
Most improved Player Zion Malo
Under 7 Prestons Best Player William Barton
Best Team Player Zoe Malo
Most improved Player 1 Liam Smit
Most Improved Player 2 Arlo Bentley
Under 8 Bremners Best Player Immanuel Malo
Best Team Player Billy James
Most improved Player Ivy Taylor
Under 9 Steinmetz Best Player Mason Irving
Best Team Player Harper Bockett-Smith
Most improved Player Lachlan Reid
Under 11 Williments Best Forward Luka Newton-Urlich
Best Back Carlos Palu
Most Improved Forward Nico Buda
Most Improved Back Toby McFarlane
Team Player Forward Henry Bass
Team Player Back Jack Benson

Senior Prizewinners

This was a great celebration of the performances and contributions of the great work done throughout the year by players, coaches, managers, supporters and volunteers.
There were a few late arrivals due to rep rugby commitments but there were plenty there to congratulate the winners and there was enough silverware to dazzle even the most cynical butler!
Details below and if you weren’t there, these are the people you owe a pat on the back!
A quick side note, Jon Fuimaono received his blazer from Wellington Maori rugby earlier in the day for his 11 years of service. Well done Fui!

Trophy Description Winner Details
Mike Lorigan Memorial Shield Most tries in social rugby Peni P Finau (Pink Ginners) 14 tries
Graham Haggett Cup Most points in social rugby Peni P Finau (Pink Ginners) 70 pts
Brown-Copeland Cup Most successful off-field social team 69ers
Peter Scott Cup Most successful on-field social team Pink Ginners
Jackie Ruru Shield End of season holder Pink Ginners
Jackie Ruru Blazer The player that epitomises the values of the
Jackie Ruru Shield
Jeremy P Seal (Pink Ginners)
Frank Scott Memorial Trophy The social player that best served the club Edward H Griffiths
(Righteous Brothers)
Braddock Forde Cup 85kg player of the year Finn A Lawson
Peter Preston Cup Best under 21 grade player: Colts black Reuben J Partington
Prime Corporation Cup Best under 21 grade player: Colts green Michael Muir
Dai Hayward Trophy Top age grade points scorer Michael Muir 97 pts
Nick Jones Memorial Cup The player who contributed most to the

Colts Green side (selected by players)

Jasper R Edgar & Tom Hoskin
First Grade Player of the year Kiff Kerr & Brendan Jacques
Sir Richard Wild Cup Premier reserve player of the year Stewart J Gray
Stephen Robertson Cup Most improved women’s player Chloe J Te Moananui
Sisam Cup Woman’s player of the year Emily J Dalley
Most tries scored Training grades Trevahn EJ Ta’ufo’ou (Premier) 14 tries
Most points scored All grades Dale G Sabbagh (Premier) 178 pts
Noel Ryder Cup Outstanding player first year out of school Joshua WJ Gimblett
Al Keown Memorial Cup Best Under 21 player – all grades Caleb J Delaney
Dr Elliot Memorial Cup Club team of the year Colts Green
Old Boys University Cup Most loyal club player/member Jonathan R Fuimaono
Stu Wilson Trophy The player who best epitomised the spirit of OBU rugby Junior M Makapelu (Premier)
MJB (Jock) Hobbs Trophy Coach of the year Dallas M Paotonu (Colts Green)
Lt Gen Bernard Freyberg Trophy Volunteer of the year Paul D Swift
Supporters Cup Most improved premier team player Sam JA Reid
Ian Archibald Trophy Premier team player of the year Finnbarr J Kerr Newell